We have a new DynDNS Community site!
Check out www.dyndnscommunity.com

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 37 posts ] 

Board index : Update Clients : Unix and Other Update Clients

Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Multiple DynDNS Hosts Within Lan
PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 8:28 am 
Offline
DynDNS.com Prolific Poster

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 2:45 pm
Posts: 4223
Location: UK
And can you use PuTTY on that remote host to connect to your desktop over SSH?

_________________
Now you're looking for the secret... but you won't find it because you're not really looking. You don't really want to know the secret... You want to be fooled.

Do not PM me to draw my attention to a thread. Post in the forum and be patient.


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multiple DynDNS Hosts Within Lan
PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 8:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 1:24 pm
Posts: 18
No, PuTTY gives a network connection time out error when connecting from outside the lan.


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multiple DynDNS Hosts Within Lan
PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 10:09 am 
Offline
DynDNS.com Prolific Poster

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 6:08 pm
Posts: 1177
Location: Bergen, Norway
LlirasChosen wrote:
No, PuTTY gives a network connection time out error when connecting from outside the lan.

So, you can't connect to either computer from remote networks?

_________________
Any opinion I express is merely my personal opinion


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multiple DynDNS Hosts Within Lan
PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 11:33 am 
Offline
DynDNS.com Prolific Poster

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 2:45 pm
Posts: 4223
Location: UK
LlirasChosen wrote:
No, PuTTY gives a network connection time out error when connecting from outside the lan.


But you'd said at the start:

Quote:
My issue is that when I try to connect to my laptop I end up connecting to my desktop and when I try to connect to my desktop I connect to my desktop. Is there some way to fix this? Do I need to fix my OpenSSH server ports on my laptop?
and
Quote:
if I run it towards port 6550 I connect


Did you do those tests only from inside your network?

_________________
Now you're looking for the secret... but you won't find it because you're not really looking. You don't really want to know the secret... You want to be fooled.

Do not PM me to draw my attention to a thread. Post in the forum and be patient.


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multiple DynDNS Hosts Within Lan
PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 11:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 1:24 pm
Posts: 18
Mastermind:
No I can connect to the desktop, it is only the laptop that I cannot connect to. Whether its PuTTY or FreeNX, an outside connection errors out. Also only an SSH or QTNX connection will work from within the network.

CryHavok:
Those tests were from outside of the network. Inside the lan I have no issues going from my desktop to laptop and visa versa.
Connecting from outside of the lan seemed to always connect me to the desktop, now at port 6550 I connect to the desktop and port 6500 I get a network error.


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multiple DynDNS Hosts Within Lan
PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 12:37 pm 
Offline
DynDNS.com Prolific Poster

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 2:45 pm
Posts: 4223
Location: UK
Your next step is to install a packet capture program (such as Wireshark) on the laptop. Start it up and tell it to capture packets then try to connect (using SSH) from outside the network. Once that fails stop the capture. In Wireshark apply the filter
Code:
tcp.port == 6500
and see if any packets are listed.

_________________
Now you're looking for the secret... but you won't find it because you're not really looking. You don't really want to know the secret... You want to be fooled.

Do not PM me to draw my attention to a thread. Post in the forum and be patient.


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multiple DynDNS Hosts Within Lan
PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 3:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 1:51 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Israel
Hey all,
A little while back I experienced a very similar issue, where I had two machines running Ubuntu 12.04, and two DynDNS hostnames set up so they each update properly. I also had cross connections between the two machines, though it wasn’t consistent – sometimes it would connect to one machine and sometime to the other. I had a friend help resolve this at the time.
However, I would like to know more about this and have read through the whole thread. I’m not sure I understood the solution suggested. Can I install a packet capture program (CryHavok mentioned Wireshark), run (capture packets), and apply filters when using something like this Ubuntu firewall management service, or would this be like UFW and should be disabled?
Thanks in advance :geek: Ben

_________________
"All action results from thought, so it is thoughts that matter." Sai Baba


Back to top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 37 posts ] 

Board index : Update Clients : Unix and Other Update Clients

Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
All information © Dynamic Network Services, Inc. 2008