We have a new DynDNS Community site!
Check out www.dyndnscommunity.com

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 8 posts ] 

Board index : Services : Dynamic DNS

Author Message
 Post subject: Can't access using my computer but can use other computers
PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 3:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 3:38 am
Posts: 4
Hi,

I have set up a host that has been working for a long while: wigangkoo.dyndns.org:1234. This is for my home ip cam, which is used to monitor my 2-year old.

If I use my laptop from work, I can't access the camera. However, I can use any other laptop of my colleague's (also at work) and it'll work perfectly.

If I use the IP address, I can connect using my laptop - no problems.

So the problem is only when (1) i use my laptop; and (b) I type in the url wigangkoo.dyndns.org:1234.

Can someone help please?


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can't access using my computer but can use other computers
PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 4:25 am 
Offline
DynDNS.com Prolific Poster

Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 9:51 am
Posts: 1110
Your hostname doesn't exist anymore in DNS:
Code:
nslookup wigangkoo.dyndns.org.
Server:  dns01.mydomain.prv
Address:  10.164.118.84

*** dns01.mydomain.prv can't find wigangkoo.dyndns.org.: Non-existent domain
Visit your account to see the status of this hostname, and possibly create it from anew, or take appropriate action, e.g in case it is blocked due to abuse or otherwise.


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can't access using my computer but can use other computers
PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 2:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 3:38 am
Posts: 4
RotBlitz wrote:
Your hostname doesn't exist anymore in DNS:
Code:
nslookup wigangkoo.dyndns.org.
Server:  dns01.mydomain.prv
Address:  10.164.118.84

*** dns01.mydomain.prv can't find wigangkoo.dyndns.org.: Non-existent domain
Visit your account to see the status of this hostname, and possibly create it from anew, or take appropriate action, e.g in case it is blocked due to abuse or otherwise.


RotBlitz,
My apologies... the hostname should be "koowigang.dyndns.org"

I did a check on www.kloth.net and got answer:
DNS server handling your query: localhost
DNS server's address: 127.0.0.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: koowigang.dyndns.org
Address: 220.255.16.65

Other people in my office or outside of my office can access the home IP camera. Only when I use my laptop (inside office or outside office on public wifi) I can't access it.

Seems like something's wrong with my laptop.


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can't access using my computer but can use other computers
PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 3:47 am 
Offline
DynDNS.com Prolific Poster

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 2:45 pm
Posts: 4223
Location: UK
Are you using port 80? I can't connect to that right now.

_________________
Now you're looking for the secret... but you won't find it because you're not really looking. You don't really want to know the secret... You want to be fooled.

Do not PM me to draw my attention to a thread. Post in the forum and be patient.


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can't access using my computer but can use other computers
PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 10:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 3:38 am
Posts: 4
CryHavok wrote:
Are you using port 80? I can't connect to that right now.


Hi CryHavok,

I;m not using port 80. the full address koowigang.dyndns.org:1234.

I've done port forwarding and everything's good. It seems like I only have problems when I try to use my laptop to get to the site. If I use any other computer, it can connect fine.


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can't access using my computer but can use other computers
PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 11:16 am 
Offline
DynDNS.com Prolific Poster

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 2:45 pm
Posts: 4223
Location: UK
Did you put an entry in your hosts file with the LAN IP of the device?

What do you get if you type the following at a command prompt:
Code:
ping koowigang.dyndns.org
Does that return the LAN IP or the WAN IP?

_________________
Now you're looking for the secret... but you won't find it because you're not really looking. You don't really want to know the secret... You want to be fooled.

Do not PM me to draw my attention to a thread. Post in the forum and be patient.


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can't access using my computer but can use other computers
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 12:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 3:38 am
Posts: 4
CryHavok wrote:
Did you put an entry in your hosts file with the LAN IP of the device?

What do you get if you type the following at a command prompt:
Code:
ping koowigang.dyndns.org
Does that return the LAN IP or the WAN IP?


Hi,

Im not within the LAN, i'm accessing my home IP cam from my office. I tried the command "ping koowigang.dyndns.org" or "ping koowigang.dyndns.org:1234" both gets me "ping request could not find host..."

I can connect if I use the WAN IP address directly ("202.255.xx.xx:1234"). But other people can connect using the koowigang.dyndns.org:1234 url. So it doesn't seems to be a port forwarding issue, it's not a network firewall issue and it's not a dyndns issue. My conclusion is: something wrong with my laptop.

Can anyone guide me how to potentially resolve this? I'm using Internet Explorer.

regards,
Edward


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can't access using my computer but can use other computers
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 2:22 am 
Offline
DynDNS.com Prolific Poster

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 2:45 pm
Posts: 4223
Location: UK
You have a problem with your DNS server choice on your laptop - it's nothing to do with Internet Explorer.

Next time you have the laptop next to a computer that can access your camera, enter
Code:
ipconfig/all
on both computers. Look for lines saying "DNS Servers" and compare them. I'm betting that your laptop is using different DNS servers.

If that's the case then use the following process to set your DNS servers to be those allocated by the DHCP server:
[quote]
1. Open the Control Panel from your Start menu.
2. Click Network Connections and choose your current connection.
3. On the General tab of the Connection Status screen, click Properties.
4. On the General tab of Connection Properties, scroll down and select Internet Protocol (TCP/IP), then click Properties.
5. On the General tab of Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) Properties, select Obtain DNS server address automatically .
6. Click OK until each window is closed.

_________________
Now you're looking for the secret... but you won't find it because you're not really looking. You don't really want to know the secret... You want to be fooled.

Do not PM me to draw my attention to a thread. Post in the forum and be patient.


Back to top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 8 posts ] 

Board index : Services : Dynamic DNS


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
cron
All information © Dynamic Network Services, Inc. 2008